Business continuity management (BCM) is maturing, with the publication of the ISO 22301 being a major milestone. The Good Practice Guidelines, which are published by the Business Continuity Institute, have always been a practical guide to help business continuity practitioners understand the best practices they should be following.

The content of the 2013 edition of the Good Practice Guideline is written by experts in the field, and it aims to help business continuity professionals understand the best thinking around topics such as crisis management, incident management, emergency planning, organisational resilience, and supply chain resilience, and outsourced/ third-party suppliers.

The last Good Practice Guidelines was published in 2010, and the new edition continues to follow the same six stages of the BCM lifestyle, and links them to six professional practices. These professional practices have been simplified, and are now named as follows:

Management practices

  • Policy & Programme Management
  • Embedding Business Continuity

Technical practices

  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Implementation
  • Validation

These guidelines can also be used to build awareness within the enterprise as a whole, and are applicable to all industries—and to other organisations such as government departments and non-profits.

Download or purchase the 2013 Good Practice Guidelines from the BCI >>

In our next blog, we’ll look at some frequently asked questions about business continuity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.